close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Inaugural Alvar Zine Contest

2019-02-28 00:00:00 2019-02-28 23:59:00 America/Chicago Inaugural Alvar Zine Contest Alvar Library

Thursday, February 28
All day

Add to Calendar 2019-02-28 00:00:00 2019-02-28 23:59:00 America/Chicago Inaugural Alvar Zine Contest Enter the Inaugural Alvar Zine Contest. 2019's theme is Mardi Gras. Alvar Library

Enter the Inaugural Alvar Zine Contest. 2019's theme is Mardi Gras.

Make a zine about Carnival history, a story taking place during Mardi Gras, a personal memory, or a reflection on how the season makes you feel. To enter, submit a print copy of your zine to any New Orleans Public Library location. Electronic submissions, including your name, e-mail or phone number, and an attachment of your zine, may be submitted to contest@nolalibrary.org. The winner will receive a $50 Visa gift card and will have 100 copies of their zine printed and distributed at the New Orleans Comics and Zine Festival in April. All entries received will be added to the Alvar Zine Library.

By participating in this contest, the winner agrees to let the New Orleans Public Library use their photographs, name, and/or likeness for promotion of the Library without further compensation. All information gathered is for the use of the New Orleans Public Library in administering the contest and will not be shared except to publicize the winner. The winning entry may be printed or posted online by the Library. The author retains all permissions and copyright to the submitted work. The winner will be notified on Monday, April 1.

Sponsored by the Friends of the New Orleans Public Library.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Writing | Contest | Arts & Cultural |

TAGS: | |

Alvar Library

Phone: (504) 596-2667
Branch Manager
Adrienne Johnson

Hours
Mon, Jun 17 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jun 18 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jun 19 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jun 20 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jun 21 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Jun 22 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 23 Closed

About the library

Located in the Bywater neighborhood, the Alvar Library was built by the WPA in 1940 and is a fine example of the Art Deco architectural style of that period. Weekly, we offer computer tutoring, storytime, and crafts. Collection highlights include locally-made comics and zines.

Upcoming events

Tue, Jun 18, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jun 18, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jun 19, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Wed, Jun 19, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jun 19, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Jun 20, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Thu, Jun 20, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Thu, Jun 20, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Thu, Jun 20, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Thu, Jun 20, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Fri, Jun 21, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Fri, Jun 21, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Mon, Jun 24, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Mon, Jun 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Jun 25, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jun 25, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jun 26, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Wed, Jun 26, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jun 26, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Thu, Jun 27, 10:30am - 11:30am

Thu, Jun 27, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Thu, Jun 27, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Thu, Jun 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Jun 27, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Thu, Jun 27, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Fri, Jun 28, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Fri, Jun 28, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Sat, Jun 29, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Jul 01, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Tue, Jul 02, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jul 02, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jul 03, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Wed, Jul 03, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jul 03, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Fri, Jul 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Mon, Jul 08, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Tue, Jul 09, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jul 09, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Tue, Jul 09, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Jul 09, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Jul 10, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Wed, Jul 10, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jul 10, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Jul 11, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Thu, Jul 11, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Thu, Jul 11, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Thu, Jul 11, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Fri, Jul 12, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Fri, Jul 12, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Mon, Jul 15, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Tue, Jul 16, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jul 16, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jul 17, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Wed, Jul 17, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Jul 17, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Thu, Jul 18, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Thu, Jul 18, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Thu, Jul 18, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Thu, Jul 18, 6:00pm - 7:00pm