close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

NAMI: In Our Own Voice

2019-05-22 18:00:00 2019-05-22 20:00:00 America/Chicago NAMI: In Our Own Voice Alvar Library

Wednesday, May 22
6:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-05-22 18:00:00 2019-05-22 20:00:00 America/Chicago NAMI: In Our Own Voice Representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness will speak openly about their own experiences with mental illness, with an opportunity for dialogue, questions, and resources. Alvar Library

Representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness will speak openly about their own experiences with mental illness, with an opportunity for dialogue, questions, and resources.

May is Mental Health Awareness Month. Hear two representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness talk openly about their journeys from first experiencing symptoms to diagnosis to recovery and beyond.

This presentation will provide:

  • An opportunity to hear open and honest perspectives on a highly misunderstood topic.
  • A chance to ask presenters questions, allowing for a deeper understanding of mental health conditions and dispelling of stereotypes and misconceptions.
  • The understanding that people with mental health conditions have lives enriched by hopes, dreams, and goals.
  • Information on how to learn more about mental health and get involved with the mental health community.
  • In partnership with NAMI New Orleans. Sponsored by the Friends of the New Orleans Public Library.

In partnership with NAMI New Orleans. Sponsored by the Friends of the New Orleans Public Library.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Health/Wellness |

TAGS: | Health/Wellness |

Alvar Library

Phone: (504) 596-2667
Branch Manager
Sara Jacobelli

Hours
Mon, May 25 Closed
(Memorial Day)
Tue, May 26 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, May 27 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, May 28 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, May 29 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, May 30 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, May 31 Closed

About the library

Located in the Bywater neighborhood, the Alvar Library was built by the WPA in 1940 and is a fine example of the Art Deco architectural style of that period. Weekly, we offer computer tutoring, storytime, and crafts. Collection highlights include locally-made comics and zines.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Thu, May 28, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Canceled
Thu, May 28, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 02, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jun 03, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 04, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 04, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 09, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 11, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 11, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 16, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 20, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 20, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 23, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jun 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 25, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 25, 5:30pm - 7:00pm