close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

NAMI: In Our Own Voice

2019-05-13 17:30:00 2019-05-13 19:30:00 America/Chicago NAMI: In Our Own Voice Algiers Regional Library

Monday, May 13
5:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-05-13 17:30:00 2019-05-13 19:30:00 America/Chicago NAMI: In Our Own Voice Representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness will speak openly about their own experiences with mental illness, with an opportunity for dialogue, questions, and resources. Algiers Regional Library

Representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness will speak openly about their own experiences with mental illness, with an opportunity for dialogue, questions, and resources.

May is Mental Health Awareness Month. Hear two representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness talk openly about their journeys from first experiencing symptoms to diagnosis to recovery and beyond.

This presentation will provide:

  • An opportunity to hear open and honest perspectives on a highly misunderstood topic.
  • A chance to ask presenters questions, allowing for a deeper understanding of mental health conditions and dispelling of stereotypes and misconceptions.
  • The understanding that people with mental health conditions have lives enriched by hopes, dreams, and goals.
  • Information on how to learn more about mental health and get involved with the mental health community.

In partnership with NAMI New Orleans. Sponsored by the Friends of the New Orleans Public Library.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Health/Wellness |

TAGS: | Health/Wellness |

Algiers Regional Library

Phone: (504) 596-2641
Branch Manager
Mary Ann Marx

Hours
We're closed Monday May 27
Mon, May 20 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, May 21 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, May 22 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, May 23 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, May 24 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, May 25 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, May 26 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

The Algiers Regional Library serves the greater Algiers Community with all traditional library services as well as computer access, story times, printing and fax services and a variety of informational, educational and recreational programs for all ages. It is the meeting place for the Algiers Historical Society’s monthly meeting. It has two meeting rooms available for booking by non-commercial organizations. It also has a computer technology lab with twelve computers. Additionally, there is a teen activity room and a separate space for the teen collections.

Upcoming events

Mon, May 20, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Tue, May 21, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, May 21, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, May 21, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Wed, May 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Thu, May 23, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Thu, May 23, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Thu, May 23, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Sat, May 25, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Sat, May 25, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Sun, May 26, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, May 28, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, May 28, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Thu, May 30, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Thu, May 30, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Sat, Jun 01, All day

Sat, Jun 01, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Mon, Jun 03, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Mon, Jun 03, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Jun 04, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 04, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jun 04, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Wed, Jun 05, 10:30am - 11:30am

Wed, Jun 05, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Thu, Jun 06, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Thu, Jun 06, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Thu, Jun 06, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Sat, Jun 08, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Mon, Jun 10, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Mon, Jun 10, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Jun 11, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 11, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jun 11, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jun 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Jun 12, 10:30am - 11:30am

Wed, Jun 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Jun 13, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Thu, Jun 13, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Sat, Jun 15, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 17, 10:00am - 3:00pm

Mon, Jun 17, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Mon, Jun 17, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Jun 18, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 18, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jun 18, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Wed, Jun 19, 10:30am - 11:30am