close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

NAMI: In Our Own Voice

2019-05-13 17:30:00 2019-05-13 19:30:00 America/Chicago NAMI: In Our Own Voice Algiers Regional Library

Monday, May 13
5:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-05-13 17:30:00 2019-05-13 19:30:00 America/Chicago NAMI: In Our Own Voice Representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness will speak openly about their own experiences with mental illness, with an opportunity for dialogue, questions, and resources. Algiers Regional Library

Representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness will speak openly about their own experiences with mental illness, with an opportunity for dialogue, questions, and resources.

May is Mental Health Awareness Month. Hear two representatives from the National Alliance on Mental Illness talk openly about their journeys from first experiencing symptoms to diagnosis to recovery and beyond.

This presentation will provide:

  • An opportunity to hear open and honest perspectives on a highly misunderstood topic.
  • A chance to ask presenters questions, allowing for a deeper understanding of mental health conditions and dispelling of stereotypes and misconceptions.
  • The understanding that people with mental health conditions have lives enriched by hopes, dreams, and goals.
  • Information on how to learn more about mental health and get involved with the mental health community.

In partnership with NAMI New Orleans. Sponsored by the Friends of the New Orleans Public Library.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Health/Wellness |

TAGS: | Health/Wellness |

Algiers Regional Library

Phone: (504) 596-2641
Branch Manager
Mary Ann Marx

Hours
Mon, Nov 11 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Nov 12 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Nov 13 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Nov 14 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Nov 15 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Nov 16 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Nov 17 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

The Algiers Regional Library serves the greater Algiers Community with all traditional library services as well as computer access, story times, printing and fax services and a variety of informational, educational and recreational programs for all ages. It is the meeting place for the Algiers Historical Society’s monthly meeting. It has two meeting rooms available for booking by non-commercial organizations. It also has a computer technology lab with twelve computers. Additionally, there is a teen activity room and a separate space for the teen collections.

Upcoming events

Sun, Nov 17, All day

Sun, Nov 17, 2:00pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Nov 18, All day

Mon, Nov 18, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Mon, Nov 18, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, All day

Tue, Nov 19, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Nov 19, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Lobby

Wed, Nov 20, All day

Thu, Nov 21, All day

Thu, Nov 21, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Thu, Nov 21, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Fri, Nov 22, All day

Sat, Nov 23, All day

Sat, Nov 23, 10:00am - 11:00am

Sun, Nov 24, All day

Sun, Nov 24, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Nov 25, All day

Mon, Nov 25, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 26, All day

Tue, Nov 26, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Nov 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Nov 26, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Lobby

Tue, Nov 26, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Nov 27, All day

Wed, Nov 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Nov 30, All day

Sat, Nov 30, 10:00am - 11:00am

Sun, Dec 01, All day

Mon, Dec 02, All day

Mon, Dec 02, 10:00am - 11:00am

Mon, Dec 02, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Tue, Dec 03, All day

Tue, Dec 03, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Dec 03, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Dec 03, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Lobby

Tue, Dec 03, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Dec 04, All day

Wed, Dec 04, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Wed, Dec 04, 6:00pm - 7:45pm

Thu, Dec 05, All day

Thu, Dec 05, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Thu, Dec 05, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Thu, Dec 05, 5:30pm - 7:30pm

Sat, Dec 07, All day

Sat, Dec 07, 10:00am - 11:00am

Sun, Dec 08, All day

Mon, Dec 09, All day

Mon, Dec 09, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Mon, Dec 09, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Mon, Dec 09, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Dec 10, All day

Tue, Dec 10, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Dec 10, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Lobby

Tue, Dec 10, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Dec 10, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Dec 11, All day

Wed, Dec 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Dec 12, All day

Thu, Dec 12, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Thu, Dec 12, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Fri, Dec 13, All day

Sat, Dec 14, All day

Sat, Dec 14, 10:00am - 11:00am

Sun, Dec 15, All day

Mon, Dec 16, All day

Mon, Dec 16, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Tue, Dec 17, All day

Tue, Dec 17, 10:30am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 17, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Dec 17, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Dec 17, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Lobby

Tue, Dec 17, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Dec 17, 6:00pm - 7:00pm